"YEAR OF STANDING UP FOR GUYANA"

PUBLIC SERVICE MINISTRY

CIRCULAR NO.25/1986

REFERENCE NO. PS:22/2

FROM:Permanent Secretary,

Public Service Ministry

SUBJECT:

TO: All Permanent Secretaries,

Heads of Departments and Regional Executive Officers

Deduction of Union Dues and Agency Fees, and payment to the Recognised Unions.

DATE: 1986-12-01

It has been brought to the attention of this Ministry that Ministries/Departments/Regions have been making deductions of Union Dues and Agency Fees from the salaries/wages of certain employees in favour of Unions which do <u>not</u> have recognized bargaining rights for the particular categories of employees (e.g. cleaners, labourers, manual and semi-skilled workers, drivers etc.), contrary to the Agency Shop Agreement. The list of "Representational Units in the Public Service as per Union" was included in Appendix "A" of the Agency Shop Agreement. An updated list is attached.

2. Please ensure that immediate steps are taken by the relevant officers in your organizations to correct the above situation where it exists.

J. McCurdy for Permanent Secretary Public Service Ministry.

REPRESENTATIONAL UNITS IN THE PUBLIC SERVICE BY UNION

SCHEDULE I

UNION

Guyana Public Service Union

TRADITIONAL UNITS

- (i) Permanent Establishment Pensionable and Non-pensionable with the exception particularized below
- (ii) Medical Employees

SCHEDULE II

AFFILIATES OF THE FEDERATION OF UNIONS OF GOVERNMENT EMPLOYEES

Union

Amalgamated Transport and General Workers' Union

2. National Union of Public Service Employees

Traditional Units

- (i) Transport and Habours Department Employees
- (ii) Open Vote Employees Ministry of Manpower, Housing and Environment
- A. Open Vote Employees
 - (i) Ministry of Agriculture Hydraulics, Land Development, Survey Division, Zoo and Projects.
 - (ii) Ministry of Works Roads, Buildings, Projects and Watchman.
- B. Cleaners
- C. Permanent Establishment Non Pensionable Artisan Group
- 3. Union of Agricultural and Allied Workers

Ministry of Agriculture – all open vote employees and employees holding posts elevated from the open vote establishment to the Permanent Establishment – Non-pensionable through the job evaluation exercise, who are attached to the Agricultural Division of the Ministry, with the exception of supervision staff e.g. Foremen.

NOTE:

The Guyana Postal and Telecommunication Workers Union, an affiliate of the Federation of Unions of Government Employees, which represents postal and telecommunication workers, is not included in Schedule II above.